John Hiatt to Release New Album Mystic Pinball on September 25!

Cincinnati, OH (PRWEB) August 21, 2012

Acclaimed musician and songwriter John Hiatt will release Mystic Pinball on September 25th via New West Records. Called one of rocks most astute singer-songwriters of the last 40 years by the Los Angeles Times, Hiatt continues to write brilliant character studies, twisting entertaining storylines with cunning lyrics and wry humor including Were Alright Now, the first single from Mystic Pinball. Were Alright Now is a blues driven, gospel song available to hear today at Mystic Pinball will be available as both a CD and on limited edition 180-gram vinyl.

Hiatt and his band, The Combo, have gained a reputation for captivating crowds at their live shows as The Tennessean depicts: He prowls the stage, delivering the bluesy stuff in a whiskey-burn howl, shouting the rock stuff and fronting a formidable band that can turn on a dime, from ballads to bombast. Hiatt & The Combo begin a US run mid-August that includes dates with Steve Earle, a special appearance at the Americana Festival in Nashville and two shows at City Winery in NYC (full list of dates below.)

For Mystic Pinball, Hiatts 21st studio album, Hiatt turned to producer Kevin Caveman Shirley (Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Joe Bonamassa.) Shirley also produced Hiatts highly praised Dirty Jeans And Mudslide Hymns, which the New York Times declared was his best since 1995. Hiatt relies on the exceptional musical skills of Doug Lancio (electric guitar, mandolin, Dobro), Kenneth Blevins (drums and percussion) and Patrick OHearn (bass) to play with him on the record.

John Hiatts career as a performer and songwriter has spanned more than 30 years and everyone from Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, BB King, Bonnie Raitt and Iggy Pop has covered his work. Hiatt began his solo career with the 1974 album Hangin Around the Observatory. His landmark 1987 release Bring The Family, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year, was his first album to chart in the U.S. 2000s Crossing Muddy Waters was called The most natural and relaxed John Hiatt album in years by All Music Guide. In 2008, Hiatt released Same Old Man, was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame and was honored by the Americana Music Association with their prestigious Lifetime Achievement in Songwriting Award. Critical acclaim continued for The Open Road (2010) with The Boston Herald praising Hiatt knocks together a rocking, full-throttle road record that in its tone, toughness and mix of blues, r & b and country harkens back to his landmark Bring the Family while the Associated Press proclaimed Hiatt remains at the top of his game in reference to Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns.

Mystic Pinball track listing:

1. We’re Alright Now

2. Bite Marks

3. It All Comes Back Someday

4. Wood Chipper

5. My Business

6. I Just Don’t Know What To Say

7. I Know How To Lose You

8. You’re All The Reason I Need

9. One Of Them Damn Days

10. No Wicked Grin

11. Give It Up

12. Blues Can’t Even Find Me